I. An accumulation of excess points within a given period of time

In Missouri, there is a point system for traffic violations set out by the Missouri Department of Revenue.  Each violation is assigned a specific point "value" and a driver who pleads guilty to that violation is penalized with those points on his/her license.  When a driver accumulates a predetermined number of points, their license will be suspended.  This is commonly referred to as a "point suspension.".

Typically, an accumulation of eight (8) points within 18 months results in a point suspension of 30 days for a first violation.  Subsequent violations last longer.  An accumulation of 12 points in 12 months results in a one (1) year suspension.

Reinstatement from a point suspension may require a driver to wait for the suspension period to end, post an SR-22 insurance filing, and/or pay a reinstatement fee.

This issue may be resolved by either waiting the appropriate time for the points to “fall off” your license, or we may be able to file a Motion to Set-Aside a guilty plea.

II. A BAC of .08 or more (if over 21 years of age)

In Missouri, there is a point system for traffic violations set out by the Missouri Department of Revenue.  Each violation is assigned a specific point "value" and a driver who pleads guilty to that violation is penalized with those points on his/her license.  When a driver accumulates a predetermined number of points, their license will be suspended.  This is commonly referred to as a "point suspension."

Typically, an accumulation of eight (8) points within 18 months results in a point suspension of 30 days for a first violation.  Subsequent violations last longer.  An accumulation of 12 points in 12 months results in a one (1) year suspension.

Reinstatement from a point suspension may require a driver to wait for the suspension period to end, post an SR-22 insurance filing, and/or pay a reinstatement fee.

This issue may be resolved by either waiting the appropriate time for the points to “fall off” your license, or we may be able to file a Motion to Set-Aside a guilty plea.

III. A BAC of .02 or more (if under 21 years of age) or a conviction for a minor in possession

n Missouri, the legal limit for a minor’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.02.  If a minor submits to a test of his/her breath, blood, or urine, and the results determine that person operated a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02 or above, their license may be suspended for 90 days for a first such offense (depending on whether they request a hearing and/or the outcome of that hearing).  Subsequent BAC violations result in longer suspensions.

Reinstatement from a point suspension may require a driver to wait for the suspension period to end, post an SR-22 insurance filing, and/or pay a reinstatement fee.

IV. A refusal to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test

In Missouri, every driver impliedly consents to a test of his/her breath, blood, or urine     upon the reasonable request or a law enforcement officer if they believe you were operating a motor vehicle in an intoxicated or drugged condition.  This is colloquially referred to as the “Missouri Implied Consent Law.”  Failure to submit to such test may result in the revocation of driving privileges for one (1) year.

Reinstatement from a refusal revocation may require a driver to wait for the revocation period to end, post an SR-22 insurance filing, complete a SATOP program, and/or pay a reinstatement fee.

Fortunately, most drivers will qualify to obtain a hardship license during their revocation.  The requirements are not easy to understand, and complying with them can be more difficult.  I know what you need to do and who you need to talk to.  I work with people everyday to get limited driving privileges.  Let me help you!

V. A conviction for a DWI or DUI or other alcohol related conviction

n Missouri, alcohol related convictions not only carry the penalty of points (as described above); they also carry the penalty of license denial for multiple offenses.  First offense municipal court DWI or DUI convictions result in eight (8) points being added to a driver’s record.  State court convictions, on the other hand, result in 12 points being added to a driver’s record for a first offense.

Second convictions may result in increased point penalties, but may also result in a denial of driving privileges for a certain number of years.  Two (2) DWI or DUI convictions may result in a five (5) year license denial, while three (3) of the same convictions may result in a 10 year license denial.

Reinstatement from alcohol convictions may require a driver to wait for the suspension period to end, post an SR-22 insurance filing, complete a SATOP program, and/or pay a reinstatement fee.  Second offenses may require the installation of an ignition interlock device on any vehicle the driver operates.

Reinstatement from a denial may require a driver to petition the circuit court of his/her residence for reinstatement.  Such petition may not be granted without the driving posting an SR-22 insurance filing, installing an ignition interlock device with camera and GPS, and a showing that the driver’s habits and conduct no longer pose a threat to the public safety of Missouri.

Petitions for Reinstatement of a license after a denial are complicated and time-consuming process.  Many lawyers won’t even do them!  I have done them and had them granted.  I have clients who are using them right now.  Don’t go without driving any longer than you have to.  Call me to help!

VI. Non-payment of child support

In Missouri, a parent who is supposed to receive child support, but is not receiving such support, may enlist assistance from the state in collecting such support.  Failure to pay child support may result in a driver’s license being suspended. 

Reinstatement from a child support suspension may require a driver to pay-off any child support arrearage due.  While that may be done as one lump-sum payment, it is more often accomplished by entering into a payment agreement with Child Support Enforcement Services.

I know who to call to set up payment plans and I know who to call to seek a modification of your child support order.  These are some of the most difficult suspensions to resolve long-term, but nothing gets accomplished if you don’t begin the process.  Call me!

VII. Non-payment of a judgment relating to an uninsured/underinsured auto accident

In Missouri, a driver held responsible as a result of an automobile accident is required to pay the cost of the damages sustained by the other driver.  This is generally accomplished through the driver’s automobile insurance.  However, drivers without automobile insurance coverage, or drivers with insufficient coverage, may find their license suspended as a result of their inability to pay such damages.

This usually happens when an insurance company is forced to cover the damages sustained by their own insured driver who is not reimbursed for damages sustained in an accident caused by an uninsured or under-insured driver.  That insurance company then may sue the uninsured or under-insured driver to recover the damages.

Once a judgment is entered, that insurance company contacts the Director of Revenue and asks that the uninsured or under-insured driver’s license be suspended until restitution is made to the insurance company who has stepped into the shoes of their driver (who they have already made whole).

Reinstatement from a judgment suspension may require a driver to pay-off any child support arrearage due.  While that may be done as one lump-sum payment, it is more often accomplished by entering into a payment agreement with Child Support Enforcement Services.  A reinstatement fee payable to the DOR may also be required.

VIII. A conviction for no proof of insurance

In Missouri, a conviction for failure to provide proof of financial responsibility, commonly called “no proof of insurance,” may cause the Department of Revenue to suspend a driver’s license.

Reinstatement from this suspension may require a driver to post an SR-22 insurance filing and a reinstatement fee.

IX. A failure to appear or dispose of a previously issued traffic ticket

In Missouri, failure to appear in court or failure to pay assessed fines and/or court costs may result in a license suspension.  The suspension may result after a court reports the driver’s failure to appear or pay to the Department of Revenue and requests that a suspension be issued against the driver’s license.

Reinstatement from a failure to appear suspension may require the driver to fully dispose of the matter in questions, obtain a letter from that city and send same to the DOR, and/or pay a reinstatement fee.

I deal with traffic matters every day.  The complex web of municipal courts has improved, but it is still far too complicated for most people to navigate alone.  Let me be your guide!  I can help you cut through the red tape and help you get your license back much faster than you can probably do it on your own.  Please call me to help!

Whether a license has been suspended, revoked or denied, the various requirements for reinstating a Missouri driver license are as varied as the reasons for the suspension, revocation or denial.  Regardless of the reasons, it is best to choose an attorney with the experience, knowledge and skills to help sort through all of the reasons for the suspension, revocation or denial to take a step by step approach to the reinstatement requirements or procedures to obtain reinstatement of the drivers license.

I’m Chris Dulle of The Dulle Law Firm, LLC and I know the ins-and-outs of these processes and I can help you find out what needs to be done to get you driving.  Please call me so we can discuss your options.  I want to help!

If You Have Any Questions Just Call Or Send Us A Message.

For help with PERSONAL INJURY call us at

We'd love to hear from you.

The purpose of this website is to provide general information about the law, the attorneys at The Dulle Law Firm, LLC and our areas of practice. It is not intended, nor offered, as legal advice on the topic written or as a legal opinion. Therefore, you should not rely on the information contained on this website for your specific legal matter. If you have a specific question about the law, or a specific situation you would like to discuss, please feel free to contact or call us and we will be more than happy to answer your question(s) or to discuss your specific legal situation - or both.

The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based on advertisements.

© 2019 dullelawfirm.com. Designed by Vincent St. Vincent on Wix.com